St. Luke’s is more than 100 years old, yet those who have been a part of our community of faith have always looked forward…to discover and develop ways they can “live into Christ” both within and outside the church. St. Luke’s began as a mission with twelve members in April 1905, and three years later the congregation created its first church building, a sturdy wood frame structure at the corner of 9th St. and Dewey Ave.
The first parish hall (Rodgers Hall) was constructed in 1950 behind the original church as the initial step toward a new church building. Four years later the old white frame church was moved and used for other purposes, but its stained glass windows were retained and placed in the new facility, a gothic limestone structure formally dedicated in November 1964.
As the parish grew, members came together to plan and fund a two-story wing for classrooms, office space and a new parish hall (Metcalf Hall). The expansion, completed in 1983, also provided additional parking on the north side of the church.
Some 13 rectors have served God faithfully at St. Luke’s over the church’s history. Some served only a short time, while others – including our current pastor, Fr. Lee Stephens, have provided long-term leadership and created indelible legacies. They are reminders that a church is not merely buildings and property. The Church of God is people – both clergy and congregation –whose ministries both within and outside the walls of St. Luke’s are an extension of Christ’s love for all mankind.